“We the People” Scholarship

This scholarship is designed to help students earn funds for college or other secondary school by writing an essay on an assigned topic (is the Constitution still relevant today).

Burlingame High School Juniors/Seniors are eligible

First Place – $2,000

Second Place – $1,000

Winners will be asked to make two presentations in the year following their award.

Deadline – February 28th

Application and further information available at





Scholarships – KS Feed & Grain

2012-2013 Scholarships:
The Kansas Grain and Feed Association will award the following scholarships for the 2012-2013 school year on the basis of merit to any high school student:

1 – $500 Dub and Inez Johnson Memorial Scholarship ($250 each semester)

6 – $1,000 KGFA Scholarships ($500 each semester)
Go to http://www.ksgrainandfeed.org/mx/hm.asp?id=scholarship
to download an application. Also in interested students mailboxes.
Requirements: Applicants should be graduating high-school seniors, self-starters, possess excellent academic credentials, be good school and community citizens and have a strong desire to continue their education.

Completed applications are due in our office no later than Friday, March 9, 2012. Information received after March 9 will not be considered.

2012-2013 Vo-Tech Scholarships

2012-2013 Vo-Tech Scholarships


The KFB board of directors approved a new scholarship program for students attending vo-tech schools. Eight $500 scholarships will be available each year to eligible students who are either entering or in a qualified Vo-Tech program.

go to the web address below, scroll down to the Vo-Tech section and download application.




 Must be a Farm Bureau member in Kansas
 Must be enrolled in an accredited technical school in Kansas, which include but not
limited to:
o Coffeyville Community College / Technical Campus
o Cowley County College / AVTS
o Dodge City Community College / Area Technical Center
o Flint Hills Technical College
o Hutchinson Community College / Area Technical School
o Johnson County Community College / Area Vocational School
o Kansas City Kansas Area Technical School
o Kaw Area Technical School
o Manhattan Area Technical College
o North Central Kansas Technical College
o Northeast Kansas Technical College
o Northwest Kansas Technical College
o Salina Area Technical School
o Southwest Kansas Technical School
o Wichita Area Technical College
 High School Seniors are eligible to submit an application for the upcoming school year


Application must be completed and postmarked by March 1, 2012.


Legacy Scholarship

Legacy Awards are $4,000 scholarships ($1,000 per year for four years). The Foundation will offer a total of up to 250 awards.

Who is Eligible?

– Any child or grandchild (or step-child, step-grandchild, or legal ward) of a living Elk who joined the order on or before April 1, 2009, or a charter member of a Lodge that was instituted on or after April 1, 2009, is eligible to apply. The Elk must also be a paid-up member through March 31, 2012. Great-grandchildren are not eligible

-The applicant must be a high school senior.

-The applicant must apply online only.

-If the applicant’s parent and grandparent are both Elk members, the applicant must apply through the parent’s Elks Lodge.

-Students may applyfor more than one ENF scholarship; however, they may win only one. In cases where the student qualifies for more than one, we will award the scholarship with the greater value.

-Legacy Awards may only be applied to accredited US American schools, colleges or universities. (Note: Applicants from Guam, Panama, Puerto Rico and the Philippines may apply Legacy Awards toward schools, colleges or universities in their respective homes.)

-Applicants must take the Scholastic Aptitude Test or the American College Test by December 31, 2011.

How do I apply and what are the deadlines?

Eligible students should apply in the following manner:

  1. Applications will be available ONLINE ONLY after September 1, 2011. http://www.elks.org/enf/scholars/legacy.cfm
  2. The student must complete and submit the ONLINE application by 12:00 p.m. (noon) Central Standard Time on the February 1, 2012, deadline.
  3. The Elk sponsor’s membership will be verified through the BPOE Grand Lodge headquarters.
  4. When a student registers to complete the online application, both the applicant and Lodge Secretary will be notified by email.
  5. Upon receipt of the application, the applicant will receive a notification that the application was received. Winners will be announced in April 2012.

Note: Because the contest begins in one Lodge year and the winners are announced in the next, a Legacy Award could go to the child or grandchild of a lapsed member. An applicant’s Elk parent or grandparent must be a paid-up member in good standing at the time of application, but if the Elk chooses not to renew membership, that decision will not affect the outcome of the Legacy Awards contest.

Most Valuable Student Scholarship Application

The 2012 Most Valuable Student application is due December 2, 2011.

Seniors got this application in their senior mailbox, but it can also be found online.

Go to the web address below and click download application



The Elks National Foundation will award 500 four-year scholarships to the highest-rated applicants in the 2012 competition.

  • Any high school senior who is a citizen of the United States is eligible to apply.
  • Applicants need not be related to a member of the Elks.
  • College students are not eligible to apply.
  • Applicants must be citizens of the United States on the date their applications are signed; permanent legal resident status does not qualify.
  • Male and female students compete separately.

Applicants will be judged on scholarship, leadership, and financial need.

All scholarships are in the form of certificates of award conditional upon the full-time enrollment of the winner in an accredited U.S. college or university.

Applications must advance through local, district and state competitions to reach national judging. The Chicago office of the Elks National Foundation will notify the 500 national finalists by email in late February 2012.