Additional KU Scholarships

The University of Kansas is pleased to announce two exciting scholarship programs for the 2016-2017 year.
The Hixson Opportunity Award was established to provide the opportunity for students to attend KU who would otherwise not be able to because of significant personal challenges and financial hardship. The scholarship donor, Christina Hixson, has a strong desire to help students achieve their dreams of earning a college degree. Each recipient will have the opportunity to receive up to $21,000 for their educational expenses ($5,250 per year for up to four years). Hixson Opportunity Awards are available to 10 entering freshmen attending KU who are residents of the state of Kansas. The deadline to apply for the 2016-2017 school year is February 1, 2016.

The Cleland Award was established to help eliminate hatred, violence, and bigotry against gay, lesbian, bi-sexual, and transgender (GLBT) persons. The award provides financing for the college education of incoming freshmen at KU who have experienced discrimination, bullying, and/or violence based on the belief, real or perceived, that said students are gay, lesbian, bi-sexual, or transgender; or for students who have exhibited support for GLBT persons. There will be one $9,000 scholarship awarded for the 2016-2017 academic year, which may be renewed for up to four years. The deadline to apply for the 2016-2017 school year is March 1, 2016.

The applications and additional information about these scholarship programs are available online at under the Special Kansas Freshman Scholarships section at the bottom.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s